El Cajon, CA
Clear sky
Clear sky:
53.6 °F

Articles by Joe Naiman

The Del Mar Thoroughbred Club has a hat contest on Opening Day, and this year’s grand prize winner was Spring Valley’s Leslie Monroy.

Monroy also took first place in the Most Outrageous category during the July 18 contest.

“I would have been happy with a ribbon,” she said. “I’m ecstatic to win it all. I was just excited to be in the hat competition, but I won it.”

The hat has horses made of lace. Even with the chicken wire base the hat weighs less than ten pounds. The hat took about three days for Monroy to make.

In the days when we were growing up, there was a stereotype about Mexican-Americans having old lowrider Chevys. My friend was not dispelling a certain stereotype about Mexican-Americans – but that was a good thing.

We were at the Cajon Classic Cruise car show in Downtown El Cajon.

The irony is that stereotype brought us together; we white kids loved those old Chevys. Our ancestries were different, but our appreciation of old cars and motorcycles gave us something in common.

Jorge Valdiviezo won the short go and the $3,000 bonus at the Optimist Bulls Only Rodeo XX competition July 13-14 at the Lakeside Rodeo Grounds.

Valdiviezo, who is originally from the Baja California town of La Mision and now lives in San Antonio, Texas, complemented his 76-point ride in the second go-round with an 82-point score in the short go.

“I feel glad to be here,” Valdiviezo said.

Menifee cowboy Tommy Denny won the first go-round with a score of 76 points on Making Moves, who was provided by Porterville stock contractor Evan Matthews. 

The San Diego County Fair had three days of Open Tuff Trucks racing competition June 22-24, and El Cajon driver Jason McNeil won two of those races.

Each driver was given four runs on the Del Mar Arena course and the fastest run constituted the driver’s official time.

McNeil had a winning time of 34.59 seconds June 22 with Norco’s Sean Kepler placing second at 36.05 seconds.

The June 23 racing ended with McNeil having the fastest run of the day at 38.478 seconds and second-place Jacob Andrew of Wisconsin finishing the course in 38.812 seconds.

The CIF San Diego Section annually gives lifetime passes for distinguished services to coaches, administrators and others who are retiring from their position. The recipients of this year’s lifetime passes included Carlton Hoggard, Steve Coover and Randy Wright.

What is now called the Firefighter Demolition Derby was held at Cajon Speedway for ten years before being revived in 2010 as part of the San Diego County Fair. No firefighter had won consecutive championships until this year, when Chris Wrisley of the Lemon Grove Fire Department added a June 2 victory to his 2017 championship.

“It’s an honor,” Wrisley said. “It’s never been done before.”

A June 28 San Diego County Water Authority hearing will determine the SDCWA’s rates and charges for 2019, but the SDCWA is likely to have a lower rate increase than in past years.

The County of San Diego’s latest plans to promote local agriculture include preliminary steps to reduce the regulatory burden for those who provide goods or services at community events on commercial agricultural properties.

The CIF San Diego Section’s Division V football playoffs will now have 12 teams instead of eight.

A unanimous voice vote during the May 23 CIF Board of Managers meeting approved the playoff expansion. The change will take effect for the fall 2018 season.

A separate CIF action reduced the Open Division playoffs from eight teams to four while retaining the 12-team Division I playoff format. The CIF San Diego Section transitioned from enrollment-based divisions to competitive based divisions in 2013.

The CIF added Division V in 2005. 

The fire mitigation fee rates paid by developers to fund the cost of fire department facilities serving the new development will increase for Fiscal Year 2018-19.

The fee for non-agricultural construction will increase from 56 cents to 58 cents per square foot and the fee for agricultural buildings without sprinklers was changed from 15 cents to 16 cents per square foot. 

The fee for agricultural buildings with fire sprinkler systems remains at two cents per square foot, and the fee for poultry and greenhouse buildings is still one cent per square foot.